Quick Books simple edition vs. Microsoft Access?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by machsixer, Sep 6, 2006.

1. machsixer

machsixer LawnSite Member

I've been using Access for 3 years now and am considering trying Quick Books simple edition. I've designed and modified my MS database and am able to keep track of customers, jobs, dates, fees, mileage, accounts receivable, payments, taxes, etc. I feel I've done a pretty good job of designing my db and also have 2 degrees in the i.t. world so I think I know what I'm doing. However; I'm still contemplating trying QB simple edition because I see it's on sale this week for 40 bucks at our local Best Buy and other places. Does anyone think it's worth it?

p.s. the reason I work in lawn care with 2 degrees in i.t. is because there are NO entry level jobs available. Tell any potential college age people this fact. Tough times in i.t........ enough of my babble. I appreciate everyone's opinions.
  2. Grits

Grits LawnSite Silver Member
    from Florida

I have always wondered....what does i.t. stand for?
  3. Poncho25

Poncho25 LawnSite Senior Member

do i sense sarcasm? :)
  4. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

machsixer ... Tell me about the programming language for Access. I started using QB Pro this season, after using Quicken for many years. Using Quicken for money management, I was able to create text reports, write many utility programs for generating reports that I found useful. Also, I wrote a program to generate my monthly invoices. All the programming was done in QuickBasic.

Now, with QB Pro, I am unable to get reports that are useful. I have been unable to find utility programs to get access to the QB database, so that I could write my own reports.