QuickBooks start-up effort

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Roger, May 12, 2005.

1. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

I'm a solo operator with about 45 accounts. In past years, I have used my own home-grown software for accounting and invoicing, based around Quicken records. The process takes time and I'm the only one who has any clue how to make it work.

This season, I've really struggled to keep my records going and current, getting out invoices. In the off-season, I looked at QuickBooks, with intentions of getting the setup done when I was not busy. Now, I'm up to my eyeballs in alligators with outside work, and buried with the admin stuff. It isn't getting done on a timely manner.

My question is simple: With about 45 accounts, information for each account, past work records, etc all available in some format that I can manipulate for importing, how long might it take to get up and running under QuickBooks?

I know I was not smart by taking care of this in the off-season, but I thought I could manage with my old scheme. My wife was working with me nearly full-time in the past, but this season she is only working a few hours per day, some days not at all. This means I'm stretched out too thin with the daily workload. This is my very busiest time of the year, and I should not be taking time to change record keeping. But, I fear I will be saddled with the overload on the admin side for the entire season. I have no help for this part.

I've considered hiring out all the admin work, but I don't feel good about paying somebody else to do what I can do myself -- IF I can get it done efficiently.

Any thoughts? But, my specific question is about setup time. I realize everybody works differently. My skills with packaged software is probably better than average (not being boastful here - just experience from a "former life").

Or, maybe somebody has a different solution to my problem....

2. LawnScapers of Dayton

LawnScapers of Dayton LawnSite Silver Member