1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Rain Bird Academy Boot Camp, Good/bad?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by fsujammer, Sep 27, 2013.

1. fsujammer

fsujammer LawnSite Member
    from IA

Hey guys, I currently only cut grass but would like to get into installing/servicing sprinklers. I know the best way to learn would be to work for someone for a few years but that is not an option for me. I am a school teacher who has my business on the side but would love to go full time someday doing sprinklers along with the mowing.

My question is, have any of you or your employees gone to these training classes? Are they worth taking a week off of work and spending money on a hotel and possibly airline tickets?
  2. Kiril

Kiril LawnSite Fanatic

Better than nothing I guess .........
  3. 1idejim

1idejim LawnSite Fanatic

Wow, this sounds strange coming from a professional educator.
    Posted via Mobile Device
  4. Sprinkler Buddy

Sprinkler Buddy LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Florida

Your not going to learn in a week what you need to know. Don't waste your money. Continue to build your lawn service and leave the irrigation to the pros. Its impossible for a small company to do both effectively, you just don't have the time.

Same can be said for the lone irrigation pro that has the idea he'll start adding lawn maintenance to his services. Then he runs into an irrigation job that will take a week +. Skip the lawn care that week? For some quick $$$. lol
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2013
  5. I can not disagree more with what you said other than the part that you won't learn everything you need to know about irrigation in that one class. its only good for the basics

Nothing is going to teach you than hands on experience with the mistakes costing you $$$$$$.