Rain Wash Away Seed???

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by OCTO13ER, Sep 30, 2005.

1. OCTO13ER

OCTO13ER LawnSite Member

Hey guys!! Newbie here with a couple of questions before I plant my seed:

I've got new construction that needed 8 truckloads of fill to bring it to grade. It's really good farmland soil (even smells like manure) that we got graded two weekends ago. I also spread a load of sand (mason #1) over the entire area because the soil did contain some clay, I figured the sand would help loosen up any clay and keep it from compacting. Well, last weekend we rented the biggest rear tine tiller we could find and set about to tilling. We got it tilled up real fine (some parts are still golf ball size or smaller, just couldn't break 'em up any more) and raked it all smooth. I started spreading seed and about halfway through the first spreader full, it started dumping rain. My guess is the seed that got wet in the spreader may be ruined (what do you think?). Anyhow, it proceeded to rain pretty good over the weekend and again on Wednesday. What I noticed and became concerned of was that in one area of the yard the rain washed quite a bit of dirt out to the street, created some ruts (little rain gullys) and brought quite a few small rocks to the surface over the entire yard. Now my questions:

If I spread my seed, then the mulch/starter fertilizer (the kind that's made from recycled newspaper), then roll it by hand with a 200 lb. roller (normally pulled by a tractor, but I'm a big boy) will that keep my seed/soil from washing away in the next big rain? Or will I have to invest in straw/erosion control?
    Also, should I bother picking up the thousands of tiny rocks that surfaced? My neighbor said don't bother because there are thousands more yet to come, but what happens to them if they're not removed? Will the grass/topdressing eventually overcome them?