Rainbird Controller Not Working

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by bappida69, Jun 10, 2008.

1. bappida69

bappida69 LawnSite Member

Hello,

I hope this is the right forum for posting this question that I have. I am an absolute newbie and recently found that my Rainbird E-9 Controller seems to be "dead". Other than checking the power supply, I am not sure if there is something else I can do to set this right?

Thanks in advance!!

2. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

Any lightning activity? Pull out any backup battery. The idea is a complete power-down, in the hopes of rebooting the controller.

3. Mike Leary

Mike Leary LawnSite Fanatic

See if there's a little fuse in the back. Leave it unplugged for a few hours after
    proving it's getting 110v & 24 volts after the transformer. Is it plugged into a circuit
    that has a GFI (ground-fault-interrupter)?

4. bappida69

Once I am home, I will check this and post. But yes, there were some lightning activities some time back:cry: Do all these controllers have back up battery? I couldn't find that in the front panel. But will look again.

Thanks for the responses..

5. bappida69

Hi,

I did not find any backup battery nor did I find any fuse in the back/front:confused:

Thanks!

6. DanaMac

DanaMac LawnSite Fanatic

I don't believe that model had them. It has been discontinued. Sorry, but it's a junk controller. I don't like it.

7. Waterit

Waterit LawnSite Silver Member

Replace that hunk-of-junk! The E series was a really bad idea...

8. bappida69

Hi,

Sounds like I need to change the controller:cry: However, I wanted to first verify if the transformer is ok or not.

So I went ahead and bought a new sprinkler transformer to check the same. However while trying to install the new transformer, I noticed that there are two wires, whereas the E-9 transformer seems to have three wires connected to the controller(two colors only). Little confused as to how to connect the transformer?

Thanks in advance!