Rainbird ET h2o manager

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by FIMCO-MEISTER, Jun 29, 2007.

1. If you carefully scrutinize posts and still have your long term memory intact in spite of prolonged exposure to glue you will know that I'm involved in a project involving a water smart bed and irrigation system at the Dallas Arboretum. Anyway we definitely wanted it to be an ET based watering system. After much thought and due to generosity we are going to install the Rainbird ET manager on the whole timer not just the bed zones. We are going to include a tipping rain gage to monitor on-site rainfall as well as local weather station data. Any feedback is welcome. it looks great on the site but I have no experience with this product and would like to appear some what knowledgeable.
    http://www.rainbird.com/landscape/products/controllers/etmanager_tutorial.htm

2. DanaMac

DanaMac LawnSite Fanatic

One of our local water districts, Donala Water, has water restrictions starting this year. They also have a program where if you have them install this same ET manager, you are exempt from the restrictions. I don't know if they charge for it. Probably, but not sure how much. One customer had it installed 2 weeks ago. Well guess what, they loosened one terminal for one of the stations and it didn't water until I got there the other day, and that zone is crispy crunchy now.

3. That sounds like installer error right? I do know their is a monthly fee involved. It acts as a break in the common but each zone is entered into it if I'm understanding it right.

4. DanaMac

DanaMac LawnSite Fanatic

Oh yeah, they installed it and everything was fine when I was out there a week prior adding and moving heads.

Not sure of fees and such for it. Haven't looked at it much. Actually that was the first time I'd seen one and I know squat about it.

5. Well I'm fixin to get a real education so i'll keep posting tidbits as i learn them.

6. DanaMac

DanaMac LawnSite Fanatic

7. Kiril