Raising Prices?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Tlvoskamp, Sep 4, 2007.

1. Tlvoskamp

Tlvoskamp LawnSite Member

I have a few questions about raising prices for my clients. I have been doing this for a few years now and as my company has been growing and I am taking on new overhead such as insurance, liscencing, employees. I am realizing that some of my early pricing is too low now and there is not alot of margin in some of those early yards. Do you think it is appropriate to send a letter explaining the cost increase of being a legit business and the necessity of higher wages to maintain decent margin in my jobs. Any thoughts on how to do this in a diplomatic way would be appreciative.

Thanks,

Tlvoskamp

2. bigtex

bigtex LawnSite Member
    from ma

in the northeast we have a (cutting season) that starts in april and ends in oct. what i do and most others do is raise $ accordingly at the begining of each season. if i underbid a lawn cutting i'll sweat it out for the season and adjust next. i dont know about texas though? but a formal notice in writing and a few weeks notice of the increase is also acceptable. trial and tribulation

3. jwholden

jwholden LawnSite Member
    from CT

I know of someone who raises the price on only 1/2 his clients every other year. It seems to spread the compliants a little thinner.

If you raise your prices, you will lose some customers. That is a fact of life.

You will begin to notice that the customers you lose are the ones who were the biggest pain anyway.

When you send your letter don't go into too much detail explaining why you need to charge more. Just explain that there will be a slight increase on such and such a date so we can continue to give you the service you have grown accostumed to.

If they call to complain stick to your guns. These people would call to complain no matter how much you raised your price and you don't want them anyway.

4. Tlvoskamp

Thanks for the tips, I really appreciate it.