raising prices

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by grass pro llc, Mar 25, 2009.

1. grass pro llc

grass pro llc LawnSite Member
    from Iowa

I bought a small lawn care company in the fall of last year. Along with it I got 20 residential accounts. Some of these accounts are only paying $10 or $15 per weekly cut. What is the best way to explain to the customers that I need to raise the price. I'm just starting out so I really don't want to pi$$ any of them off and lose them. Thanks.

2. ALC-GregH

ALC-GregH LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

Have you even talked to them? You should have thought of this before you bought out someone's company. You might lose most if you try it. Are you relying on the 20 to get started? At those prices, I hope you didn't pay much if anything for them. Sorry to say....

3. grass pro llc

grass pro llc LawnSite Member
    from Iowa

I have a full time job and lawn care will be part time. I think 20 is a good start, I always have room to grow.

4. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Yeah...
    Kind of a tricky situation there, not sure exactly.

5. Kennedy Landscaping

Kennedy Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic

I agree, just see if you can get by this year, and then maybe try to bump it up a little. The other guy may have quit because he was losing his butt.

6. lifetree

lifetree LawnSite Fanatic

I disagree, if you can get a little bump this year so you can at least break even, then go for it ... otherwise, you'll lose money like the other guy and get of it like he did !!

7. ambersLawnmowing

ambersLawnmowing LawnSite Senior Member