Ready to go all out?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Love Thy Neighbor, Nov 23, 2002.

1. Love Thy Neighbor

Love Thy Neighbor LawnSite Member

Hey everyone. This site is really delicious im eating everything up.
    Last year I took a break due to a new baby and this year im ready to go all out.

I'm a solo operator with a fulltime job I've been on for 15yrs.
    I want to do both. I figure I can handle 10accounts per week on my own. I would like to have my brother do another 10 a week.

Many of the accounts that im after are big. Maybe $120 per trip
    I want 20 $120 jobs.(All of these jobs are commercia)
    I had one in 2001 and it took me 3hrs to trim, mowand blow by myself on a bad day.

I have a scag 60in three wheeler, a snapper 48in mulching mower and a 21in push.

Someone tell me if I'm biting off more than I can chew or seeing $$$$$ too much. Would be nice to get a response this is why I joined to get you guys expert opinions. Thanks

2. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

Anything is possible. Only you will know if will be more than you can chew.

Have a well thought out plan and go for it!

3. Love Thy Neighbor

Love Thy Neighbor LawnSite Member

Thanks I'm gearing up for it all now.
    Is it more to my advantage to go for two year contracts or one.
    I have notice that a few places that I have contacted are obligated for two years to another lawn service. So I have to wait a year or two to go after them. Is it difficult to get those accounts? I know that I cant think about the competiton's feelings, I have to go for it. Any pointers on how to have a company hire me instead of renewing their contract.

4. Doc Pete

Doc Pete LawnSite Gold Member