1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Ready to purchase my first zero turn...

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by jalphabet, Mar 29, 2014.

1. jalphabet

jalphabet LawnSite Member

I've been doing my homework since late last summer & think I'm ready to pull the trigger on purchasing my first zero turn. Based on all the research I've done & feedback I've reviewed, I'm seriously leaning toward the Bad Boy ZT Elite with a Kawi engine. They seem to be sturdy & a great value in comparison to others equal in features.

I have about an acre & a half of fairly level lawn & was considering the 48" deck. However, the difference in price between a 48" & 54" deck is a mere fifty bucks. Seems like a no brainer, but again, I'm new at this & I respect the opinions of all of you who've been doing this awhile. Thanks all!
  2. benelli_t

benelli_t LawnSite Member

If you have no width issues in your yard I wouldnt pass on the 54". Go for it!
  3. TPendagast

TPendagast LawnSite Fanatic

"ready" for a ZTR….why??

you've got one lawn?

why even spend that kind of money?

i guess i just don't get this ZTR fascination
  4. jalphabet

jalphabet LawnSite Member

Primarily speed & maneuverability. My neighbor has a riding mower & spends hours on his lawn-something I'd like to avoid.

What do you recommend?
  5. A. W. Landscapers  Inc.

A. W. Landscapers Inc. LawnSite Bronze Member

Not sure what your budget is but you should look at the Raptor and the FasTrak lines from Hustler. http://www.hustlerturf.com
  6. rtharris

rtharris LawnSite Senior Member