Receiving Invoices, Checks

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by MICHPLOWER, Feb 26, 2011.

1. MICHPLOWER

MICHPLOWER LawnSite Member

I am rather new to the business and want to start out correctly, When receiving checks and invoices do you make a copy of the checks before you deposit them into your bank. also how do the small or solo company's do the payable accounts and receivable accounts/Like when invoices come in, how or what do you do to show on your records that the person paid.

Thanks for any input or comments

2. SDelPrete

SDelPrete LawnSite Member

i use quickbooks online to do my books..its easy to do and doesn't take much time. take a look at the site for the features.

3. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

I agree with SDelPrete -- get QuickBooks to manage your finances. You can easily develop your invoices, accept payments, track expenses (whether by cash, check, debit, credit card), balance a checking account, reconcile the credit card account.

Your post was pretty vague, but it sounds like you are on Square #1, and need to get set up properly for managing all the financial parts of your business. QB will do that for you.

4. Hoots

Hoots LawnSite Senior Member
    from DFW

When I make a deposit I have the totalled deposit slip at the top and photocopy all checks associated with it. This is a quick way to investigate missing payments.

Use an accounting software, Quickbooks works for me.

5. dwlah

dwlah LawnSite Senior Member
    from Argo Al

quickbooks
    when you go to recieve payments there is a space for check number associated with the customer invoice

6. GunnPropertyServices

GunnPropertyServices LawnSite Senior Member

I do the same thing with quickbooks works great, covers all your bases just incase theres a problems with checks

7. Andover Landscape Co.

Andover Landscape Co. LawnSite Senior Member
    Male, from Lexington,KY

Quickbooks contractor 2008 here.

8. Ooomwizard

Ooomwizard LawnSite Senior Member
    from atlanta