Record Keeping through out the day

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by howardsells2000, Apr 8, 2006.

1. howardsells2000

howardsells2000 LawnSite Senior Member

From reading different threads it seems I should be tracking my start and stop times, mileage, income and costs per day. I was wondering if anyone has a form or ideas on how I should keep track. I'm new to the business and seem to have trouble remembering this stuff. How do you guys do it?
  2. mow2nd

mow2nd LawnSite Senior Member

I use my Works Program that came with my computer. I have a customer list which when I print it up shows me all my customers, addresses and prices. I also have a schedule Mon-Fri I print up and shows me what yards I cut each day. When I get a new customer I added to the list or when I lose one I delete it. It's very simple, no special program needed, just use the WORKS program in your WINDOWS, great little tool there. I use Quickbooks to do invoices and check deposits. There are tons of things u can do with Quickbooks I just dont get into all of it. I keep all my receipts in a file and at the end of the year I do TURBO TAX.
  3. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

You don't say how many customers, but if you are starting out, you may be solo and only have a few customers. I am solo, and typically am able to mow up to eight lawns per day.

I have a Palm and use the Task Manager to schedule customers. A simple Palm PDA will do this task easily. It has a 'repeat' feature and DOW designation. So, each day has the list of customers scheduled for that day, and when done, they get a 'done' tag, and the next scheduled mowing is calculated for you. Also, the 'contact' feature enables you to keep all customer's information.