Red max (seize or not)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by bdemir, Nov 20, 2000.

1. bdemir

bdemir LawnSite Senior Member

Today my red max 6200 stopped working like it was out of gas and when we tried to start it after it was gassed up it did not start running again. We tried pulling it and realized that it was sort of rusty and rough on the pull. It was being used in heavy dirt laden areas and i fell it might of sucked in some dirt from the back. Also i remembered that my 2cycle mixture was probably too rich with gas ( too lean with oil). The engine doesent seem to have burned because it still pulls but it feels pretty hard to pull and a little scratchy inside. My question is how do i determine if its a blown or a siezed engine and is there anything i can do to get it rinning again or just replace the block. How can i tell if its a burned motor after taking it apart. Im new to taking things apart but these units are simple and a little help on where to start would help a lot.
    I would like to add that i did caheck the spark plug the airfilter and the carbon on the hole in the back.

Thanks for replys.

[Edited by bdemir on 11-21-2000 at 02:07 AM]
  2. Dave

Dave LawnSite Senior Member
    from RI

pull the muffler off to see if there is any scoring,if so you will need a piston,rings&jug
  3. Keith

Keith LawnSite Gold Member

I don't know wether you have any damage or not. I seized a piston on a BR400 one time. It was run 3 or 4 times over the course of about 20 minutes and stalled abruptly. When I tried to crank it, you couldn't even pull the rope. It was freakin locked! I then realized why, it had no oil! As I have stated, I run Amsoil and have for about 8 years. Well anyway, I tore the cylinder off and discovered the the piston and bore were stuck and smeeared, but not that bad. I figured the bottom end was trashed though. I went ahead and managed to get the cylinder to "release" the piston. I can't even rememeber how I did that :)