redmax blower very hard to start

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by greenerdreams, Dec 21, 2005.

1. greenerdreams

greenerdreams LawnSite Member

I have a remax eb7000 that runs perfect.....once I can start it. It used to start fairly easy using the standard redmax routine: crack throttle/choke/prime/pull. Now if it hasn't been running very recently and has even slightly cooled down it will take maybe 5 minutes to get it started, if it starts at all. I am a very good mechanic and have worked on 2 strokes for a long time but can't figure it out. All gaskets are tight, spark arrester out since new. No carbon buildup on exhaust port. Good spark, good fuel filter and air filter, same fuel as all my other equipment that starts easy. Good compression, no cracked fuel lines.
    Is there a diaphragm in the carb that would only affect starting but not running condition?
    Is this a common problem with older redmax blowers? It is the only redmax I own . This problem forced me to go with echo 650's instead. All of our echos start very easy no matter how old they are.

2. Birdjr

Birdjr LawnSite Senior Member
    from nnj

i have a 7000 to wit the same problem i found out that it starts easier wit the more throttle u give it but my other redmax backpacks start wit 0 throttle i wonder if the primer wears out easier on them or fuel lines get clogged

3. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

With age our two Echo PB650 got hard to start Echo advised me to put a new adjustable carb on. That fixed my problem but I noticed I had to make adjustment when it got cold. There are to many variables for these fixed jet carb to overcome. I assume the Redmax doesn't have adj carb? On Echo trimmers the crankshaft seals harden and that affects starting but if you did compression check that would rule that out?

4. Pecker

Pecker LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm no mechanic, but it sounds like time for new gaskets in the carb.

5. Lawn Masters

Lawn Masters LawnSite Senior Member