Redone lawn, Crabgrass took over, back to square 1

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by TotalNewbie, Apr 10, 2008.

1. TotalNewbie

TotalNewbie LawnSite Member

As my sign-in suggests, I'm a total newbie at this stuff. I'm a homeowner who's dealing with the kind of crap I've only ever heard about, and I feel like I'm getting a million different directions on what to do. So, here's the deal:

• I had a really hard, lumpy lawn. The kind you turn your ankle in with every step. (Maybe because of too much mixed seed?)
    • Last year (mid-Spring) I roto-tilled the whole thing. Fluffy down to 5 inches.
    • I put down a grass seed mix, and watered profusely (timer and everything)
    • Grass came up, everything was looking good, until...
    • Late June came along and so did the crab grass. By the end of August, the whole yard was a sea of crab grass.

For reference, I live in Mass., 45 minutes northwest of Boston.

So my tentative plan includes:
    • Getting rid of the now dormant crab grass (thatching? weed control? service?)
    • Seeding new grass (probably a Rye/Kentucky Bluegrass mix: 50/50)
    • Making sure I never endure an ugly lawn again

My question is: what order, and what approach is the best way to accomplish this? I've heard that I should pull it up. I've heard that I'll never get it all up. I've heard to roto-till it (again), and then grab all the crab grass roots. I've heard use a weed killer to get it while it's wet, wait two weeks, then plant the grass. I've heard plant seed now, and then spray for crab grass in late June.

Your thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
  2. mngrassguy

mngrassguy LawnSite Silver Member