1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Renovating my Lawn

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by clallen03, Sep 13, 2006.

1. clallen03

clallen03 LawnSite Senior Member

My lawn right now is full of dallas grass. In between the dallas grass there is a bit of fescue, bermuda, centipede, and crab grass. I have come to the conclusion that I want to completely renovate it an go with all fescue by seeding it. The only problem is I have never done it before and this is were you'll come in.

I have a 2.5 gallon jug of Prosecutor Pro and I going to kill off all the grass. Now I need to know what to do from there. Any advice will be great.

Thanks in advance
  2. Total.Lawn.Care

Total.Lawn.Care LawnSite Senior Member

My opinion is that after you kill all of the grass, you will have to till in into the soil, or completely remove it. I would till it under and till down about 3" to soften up the surface. Fertilize the soil and water the fertilizer in a little. With the soil damp, spread your seed, and you will want to seed think and heavy, most fescue grasses that I know of grow one blade of grass for every seed. Once seeded, cover with Hay and water regularly.

I am in south Georgia now and we do not grow fescue lawns. But when I was in North Georgia, this is what I did to my own lawn 10 years ago to get it to grow. It was thin the first year, and I overseeded regularly and fertilized abot once every 2 months. The second year, it came in nice and thick and looked really nice and green. I loved my fescue lawn. I wish I could grow it in South Georgia.
  3. TforTexas

TforTexas LawnSite Senior Member