1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Replacing Anti-Siphon Valve

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by jeff7602, May 21, 2007.

1. jeff7602

jeff7602 LawnSite Member

Hey, I'm not a professional, but I couldn't find answers to my questions anywhere on the web, so I thought I'd ask you guys.

I moved into a house with an old irrigation system. It only has three zones, and only two that I plan on using now. I replaced all of the heads and the system seems to run well. However the valves that are on are very old and leak. The ones that are on there are lawn genie valves model 711DLG. I bought a couple of rain bird apas-075 valves to replace them. When I took the first one out of the box I noticed that the inlet and outlet holes on the two valves are different distances apart. The lawn genie ones are 4 1/8" apart and the rain bird ones are 3" apart. Is there a different valve that I should have gotten that would be the same or will I have to adjust the pipes coming out of the ground somehow.

Also, how do I take the old valves off? The inlet pipe is metal and the outlet pipe is pvc. What do I need to do?

Thanks for any help you can give.
  2. Wesley's Lawn

Wesley's Lawn LawnSite Member

How about you take some pictures of what your discribing.
  3. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

Cut the outlet pipe and spin the valve off of the inlet pipe.

Spin your new valve onto the inlet pipe, and then do whatever creative pipe fitting is needed to connect up the PVC side.

Be carefull not to overtighten the female valve threads onto the male threads of the metal (galvinized?) pipe, Metal into plastic is usually not reccomended.
  4. jeff7602

jeff7602 LawnSite Member

5. Remote Pigtails

Remote Pigtails LawnSite Senior Member