Replacing Scag wb engine

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by nuyz125, Mar 29, 2005.

1. nuyz125

nuyz125 LawnSite Member

hey guys, new to the site, I have a question for some of you out there though, I just picked up a used scag walk behind, and believe me, it is used, It needs a decent bit of cleaning up, as well as a new engine, it is a belt drive 48, but not all too old, and as dumb a description as it may be, for a reference as to age, it has the newer yellow type pto switch (push pull) anyways, which engines do you guys recommend, hp, brand, and also, how difficult is it to replace these engines? I am assuming fairly easy. Lastly, if anyone has used engines for any reason, I am very interested! Thanks alot.

2. AL Inc

AL Inc LawnSite Bronze Member

nuyz, I put a new 14 Kawasaki on my 48" Scag last year. The original kawi motor lasted 7 seasons, so I think it is a good motor :) I replaced it myself, I'm really not a great mechanic, but it wasn't bad. Hopefully I'll get another 7 years out of the machine

3. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

The replacement is made easy if you replace with same brand and size of engine.

4. jim dailey

jim dailey LawnSite Senior Member

Exactly...What he said. Please post the size (48") oft the deck, and what engine is presently on it. We can then go from there.

5. nuyz125

nuyz125 LawnSite Member

its a 48 inch deck, and the engine that was originally on it was a kohler 14, but it seems like alot of guys prefer the kawasakis..is it too much of a hassle to change it, or should I just stick with the kohler, i have a snapper with a kohler that is pretty nice, so i have no problems with them...also, what size shaft are these engines? 1"? I have found several kohler 14's with 3" by 1" driveshaft with a full keyway, would this work? thanks

6. jim dailey

jim dailey LawnSite Senior Member