Researching organic ICT - Any advice?

Discussion in 'Organic Lawn Care' started by David W, Jul 21, 2008.

1. David W

David W LawnSite Senior Member

First off, I'm new to the whole organic thing and clueless. I just started researching Organic lawn care and would like to know if ICT would be beneficial if applied at the same time of core aeration?

I'm expanding into doing more core aeration, topdressing and over-seeding this fall and would like to hear what benefits anyone has seen in applying ICT when aerating and seeding in the fall? A majority of the soil tests I take are always low on organic matter, so I usually top-dress compost mixed with sifted topsoil to amend the soil as well as adjust the pH at the same time.

Is compost and ICT overkill applying at the same time?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. treegal1

treegal1 LawnSite Gold Member

Any increase in micro biology is a great step!!! so the short answer is TEA ON, LAY IT DOWN WITH LOTS OF WATER.

fyi bills is the most cost effective that is out there, there are others, but the cost starts at 250$ and up so, get some and TEA ON!

3. DeepGreenLawn

DeepGreenLawn LawnSite Silver Member

compost and CT(ICT), same thing basically, work hand in hand. I would say there is no such thing as overkill but...

ICT is a great product that I use a lot of, especially when I do topdressing.

4. dtally

dtally LawnSite Member
    Male, from Rock Hill, SC

Bill, here's your opportunity. Jump right in!

ICT and NPP are both great products...

5. David W

Thanks for the replies.

Is there any drawbacks from doing an application say at the present time of year when grass/turf is under naturally stress and not doing great? How often can you apply? Just spring or fall or is a summer application ok?