reseeding lawn

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by cbaek, Apr 21, 2008.

1. cbaek

cbaek LawnSite Member

My parents bought a new house a couple years ago, but I was away at school and I wasn't able to help them take care of the lawn, so they pretty much haven't touched it for two years other than mowing the lawn. My parents wanted to get landscapers, but since I'm going to be back home now, I wanted to try to do it myself and save them some money. The only problem is that I'm totally new to lawn care, other than mowing the lawn.

So far, all I have done is dethatch the lawn this past weekend. The grass is pretty thin, and it is about 50% green and 50% brown. From what I have read, I was thinking I would aerate, reseed, then fertilize the lawn. Thoughts?

When reseeding, first, I don't know what kind of grass to get, and second, I don't really know what the process is... I've read that I should cut the grass short, spread the seed, then............... Some places have said to cover new seed with some clear plastic until the new grass comes in, but we have a pretty big lawn, so does that mean I have to cover the whole lawn with plastic? Another place said to use a roller to push it into the dirt, and I think that would be a more plausible solution...

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. Lawncop26

Lawncop26 LawnSite Member

What type of grass is the lawn? If 50 percent is zoysia, it will still be dormat and brown, the other half that is not zoysia will be green. If thats the case. If there is no zoysia in the lawn and half is brown or dead, then I would just kill the lawn and start over.

Decide what you want to do, either start over or save what you have, just dont place plastic on the lawn or you will be starting over. Post again once you know what you want to do and you can get more clear help.

3. cbaek

cbaek LawnSite Member