Residential Pricing in Kansas City

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Droffaws, Jul 12, 2004.

1. Droffaws

Droffaws LawnSite Member
    from KCMO

I am a newbie and haven't had much time to research....also getting started a little late in the season.

Before the season gets to close to the end I would like to have about 5-6 accounts to be able to build on next year, but I don't have any idea about what to charge or how to bid. I don't want to low ball and kill myself for a few bucks, but I want to give people a fair price for Kansas City.

Here is my question...Anybody got some pointers for bidding laws for a newbie in KC?:confused:

2. TLC Darrin

TLC Darrin LawnSite Member

Maybe i'm wrong(happens often) but we figure a dollar a minute pricing works.. seems to work out ok

3. Droffaws

Droffaws LawnSite Member
    from KCMO

Thanks......Anyone else?

4. TMlawncare

TMlawncare LawnSite Bronze Member

If your a newbie you really can't expect to price at a dollar a minute. To be able to accomplish this it takes high end equipment (ztr, walk behinds everything that screams efficiency), extremely tight routing, the right customers and very fine tuned skills. As a newbie, you usually don't have tight routing, your just focusing on a route. Your equipment isn't specialized to your jobs unless your starting with some big debt or mommie money. KC is a great market, lots of development. If your serious and willing to focus on quality and profits you should do well. Rememeber the national average is 36.00 hr. This is the average of all of us in the industry. My average usually ranges around 35-45.

5. Droffaws

Droffaws LawnSite Member
    from KCMO

TM...

About how many 0-1 acre sized jobs could a newbie expect to get done on a Friday or Sat.? I would mow, trim, and edge.

6. Droffaws

Droffaws LawnSite Member
    from KCMO

Anybody else in or around KC that will chime in?

7. bottlefed89

bottlefed89 LawnSite Member