1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Residential Seal Coating

Discussion in 'Seal Coating Forum' started by FIREMAN Q, Jul 10, 2006.

FIREMAN Q LawnSite Senior Member

I'm looking to add another service to my business. I am thinking of seal coating driveways. Nothing to large. I do know that I don't want to buy any machines. I was hoping to be able to do it by the bucket.

I have no experience in this so any tips would be appreciated.

I know that $$ is always a tuff question, but what should I even be charging for this service, by the bucket, sq foot, etc. Also how much on average does everyone get for a driveway. Lets say a 1000sq drive. I believe that I would need about 7 buckets???

thanks in advance for any advice. thanks.
  2. onahill

onahill LawnSite Member
    from mn

Get a 55gal drum. The kind the whole top comes off and buy your sealer in bulk.
    You don't want to mess around with 5gal pails.
    Bulk sealer is much cheaper than buying it in 5gal buckets.

A 1000sq will be around $100 for the average drive.
  3. Coater

Coater LawnSite Member
    from MI.

FireMann I've got a few water hoses sitting around and some ladders, and I'd like to start putting out fires can you help me?

You know I've got at least 20 K invested in my business I do Professional Seal jobs. If you would see mine next to one done out of buckets its not even close. Whenever I go to a job done UN professionally and charge what I need to after someone has done an amateur job its hard explaining to them the difference and prove to them that my jobs last twice as long

Have you researched the business have you read spec's on material, Do you know that you need to add sand to sealer? My Min is 3 LB per gal of sealer.