Residential vs Commercial mowers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Yerkz, Feb 11, 2008.

1. Yerkz

Yerkz LawnSite Member

Hi, I am new to the lawn care business and am looking to line up 10 to 15 lawns to mow this season with the average lot in my area being .5 acre. I will be buying a mower soon and have been going over alot of diffrent options and know that a commercial grade mower is definitely going to hold up better, but was just wondering what the diffrence is. Besides the engines what other diffrences are there in the construction of the mowers.

I have seen for example 50" Cub Cadet mowers at the local Tractor Supply for $3,000. They also sell the same size mower for $4,000 with the heavy duty label on it, but I did not see any diffrence.

Hopefully some of the veterans on this site could help me out on my decision making. I am looking to spend the least to get the most. There are alot of options in my area as far as commercial brands go: Exmark, Dixon, Skag, Bad Boy. My price range is $3,500-$5,000 and would like a 48"-52" ztr.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

2. sbvfd592

sbvfd592 LawnSite Senior Member

over all construction. heavy gauge steel more rugged so it can work 50 hours a week as opposed to 2 a week

3. lsu03

lsu03 LawnSite Senior Member

in that price range you could probably get a new,nice 48" wb w/ a sulky.

4. Turf Commando

Turf Commando LawnSite Bronze Member

I recommend a Commercial WB eXmark is good brand many dealers everywhere... ...
    ZTR residential decks have thin steel, cheaper made engines, can't handle alot of man hrs ...
    Tell you what, kick a residential deck, then kick a commercial one, tell me which one moves ..J/k ...

5. bohiaa

bohiaa LawnSite Fanatic

it looks like that your target Customer is going to be Residential, knowing this I'm thinking maybe you should think about getting into gates and such.

6. barefeetny

barefeetny LawnSite Senior Member