Residential Z Turn

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by TheTurfTender, Mar 1, 2008.

1. TheTurfTender

TheTurfTender LawnSite Member
    from Mn

Since it's my first year. What is the problem with using a Residential Z turn for the first year. I am thinking buying a 50" cub cadet for around 2k and using it this year.
    Let me know what to expect. The mower has never been used.

2. Turf Commando

Turf Commando LawnSite Bronze Member

Overall durability what be there, deck is thin steel, have you ever operated commercial mowers...?
    If so you wouldn't be asking this question!

3. TheTurfTender

from Mn

No, I have not operated a commerical mower. What I am asking is if this will get me through a year? If I max out around 40 accounts with an acre apeice for 28 weeks and clean ups will I run into problems?

4. QualityLawnCare4u

QualityLawnCare4u LawnSite Gold Member

This mower will not take 28 weeks of 40 accounts, and I have been there and done that. As I have said before, you would be much better off buying a used well maintained commercial ztr than anything residentual. I wished I had taken the money I wasted on this junk my first few years in biz and just made a monthy payment on a new or paid cash for a used commercial unit. I AM speaking from experience here and I did not have anywhere near 40 accounts. BTW, I tried one residentual unit like you are looking at cutting 5 yards a day for 30 days and it was falling apart. Was lucky enough to get a full refund for it. Don't waste your money on it, I promise you will be on here in the near future saying the same thing I am saying to someone else asking what you are asking.

5. Turf Commando

Turf Commando LawnSite Bronze Member

First, I'm somewhat new to this site, nowhere as educated as many guys of the GREEN are.
    You can use a residential zero turn, but sooner or later parts will go bad before summer hits like pulleys, idlers pulleys, belts, tires, starter....etc