Residential ZTR Choice

Discussion in 'Tractors' started by Rasolomg23, Sep 16, 2004.

1. Rasolomg23

Rasolomg23 LawnSite Member

I know... probably beat to death.

I am a newbie when it comes to cutting grass, but I just bought a house with 3 acres to cut. Flat as a pancake, but lots of trees in the front yard.

Want a ZTR, but not sure how big I should go on the deck, engine, etc.

I would like to spend about 6k but will go higher.

Please help!

Thanks.

2. jrs mowing

jrs mowing LawnSite Member

Try a exmark lazer hp 23hp/52" :cool2:

3. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY

I would suggest that you try a Grasshopper 220. It has a 20 hp Kohler engine and a 52" deck and it is in the price range of around $6000. This mower is cheaper than an exmark and just as good. The company has been around since 1970.

4. mowhigh

mowhigh LawnSite Member
    from Dallas

Check www.countryclipper.com to see if there's a dealer near you. Also scroll down to the Homeowners Assistance Forum for responses to similar questions. Good luck...

5. Simplyhere

Simplyhere LawnSite Member

I'll second the 220/52 Grasshopper. That's what I bought, based on a number of demos, reputation and almost the EXACT price you quote. (You can email me for more details if you'd like).

So far, it's just incredible, really. Runs like a sewing machine, cuts fantastic and the maintenance regimen is easy access, etc. My "main" thing is going to be cutting my own yard, and perhaps another few per week if I get up the courage to do so.

If I were going to be a 45 hour per week guy, full-time LCO then I would take the advice of these pros...probably an Exmark or Toro, WITH a larger motor, more accessories, etc. But for the typical homeowner with 3 acres, like you describe, the Grasshopper is as good as anything that's out there for the money.

6. Rasolomg23