Restoring a Lawn

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Natural Impressions, May 13, 2006.

1. Natural Impressions

Natural Impressions LawnSite Member

I am in the process(with a local fertilizer company) of restoring one of my clients lawn. The lawn is infested with weeds so before I did anything I called this company to help with the restoration. With this company we have agreed to 1st have me remove all thatch and have him follow behind me to lay out the fertilizer with weed killer. He then suggests that I follow that with peat moss so he can lay down tall fescue seed. I don't have a problen with this but I am curious as to why the peat moss goes down before the seed. I am new to this process and just would like an explanation...( want to look like I know what I am talking about lol;) :laugh: :laugh:

2. SuperiorLandscapeMgmt.

SuperiorLandscapeMgmt. LawnSite Member

Is some of the lawn still ok? Good fescue? Are you over seeding or starting from scratch?

3. Natural Impressions

some of the lawn is good.....but maybe about 20 percent....not much.....once the thatch it removed and the weeds are kill it will be very bare

4. Soupy

Soupy LawnSite Gold Member

So he is having you do the hard work. Why not just sub out the chemical treatment then spread the seed yourself? It sounds like he is using a granular weed and feed. Ask Him if he can use liquid weed killer and spread starter fert for you.

Why are you de-thatching a tall fescue lawn? How about having him treat the weeds then you Aerate and slit-seed. If you have to rent both those pieces of equipment then you could get by with just slit-seeding, but the new seedlings would take better if aerated too. If the lawn isn't to far gone you could probably just aerate and seed. That is how I overseed lawns that don't have large bare areas.

5. SuperiorLandscapeMgmt.

I agree completly w/ Soupy!

6. SuperiorLandscapeMgmt.