1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Retro fitting a Earthway ATV spreader to a ZTR.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mhussey, Sep 19, 2006.

1. mhussey

mhussey LawnSite Senior Member

Has anyone tried to retro fit an Earthway ATV spreader to a ZTR. I just bought a pull behind plug aerator, and have a cheap pull behind spreader and also have a Earthway push spreader. The yards I maintain are kicking my butt and figured this would be a great solution to the problem. I seen these spreaders at Northern Tools website and was wandering if anyone on here has adapted one to their ZTR. Please note that I'm not a professional and I only do around 3 to 5 jobs so the Earthway spreader would be sufficient for my needs. I can't squeeze a 1000 dollar or more spreader in my budget.

If anyone even has a good pic of that spreader on a ATV I would like to see it just for design ideas. Please feel free of any pro's/ con's of this idea. I was thinking that the spreader maybe to low to the ground to be effective, but any advise would help.

2. Tharrell

Tharrell LawnSite Silver Member

There are some at Tractor Supply and probably a lot of other places that mount on an atv. There are cheap 12 volt models that you can use. I have a pic somewhere of an old walkbehind that has a spray tank mounted and I believe the fellow said he had a spreader for it too.
    I'd like to adapt a spreader to a walk behind myself and I have a 32 Bob-Cat that would be just perfect.
    I can see a spreader, a small 15 gallon sprayer and a leaf blower that can all be attached to the front of it. I'm workin' on it!
  3. mhussey

mhussey LawnSite Senior Member