Revenue $'s per hour

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Kawizx62003, Aug 14, 2014.

1. Kawizx62003

Kawizx62003 LawnSite Silver Member

So when people in the industry say "you should be making around X amount of dollars in revenue per hour", does that mean solo or a crew? Lets pretend the industry average is $100 an hour, gross revenue. (Yes I am using an outrageous number to not let the thread go to a dollar amount argument). Let s say that I am a newbie in a metropolitan area. I want to serve the entire metro area so I start from the beginning doing that to get that brand recognition rolling. I am obviously losing a bit due to the dreaded "windshield time". I know this will improve over time. Anyway, lets say Im only making $75 an hour in gross revenue. Should I be disappointed? Should I assume my pricing is too low? OR by next year when its a crew (2) and I know that will bump up the revenue per hour to $100, thats whats important?

This boils down to me questioning my pricing. I want to have everything worked out by next year. This season is going great but want to fix as much as I can NOW.

2. xstatikplus

xstatikplus LawnSite Senior Member

Per man hour....so take you 100$ per hour. If you have 5 bodies on a property that took 1 hour to do the job you would bill for 5 man hours
    Posted via Mobile Device

3. Kawizx62003

Thanks so does that mean if I have a crew of two people in a mowing truck they should be making $200 in revenue per hour? This example is using $100 per hour as industry-standard for an example.
    Posted via Mobile Device

4. Kawizx62003

Really leaning towards mowing in this thread.
    Posted via Mobile Device

5. whiffyspark

whiffyspark LawnSite Fanatic

Mowing generally isn't that high. We are at $76 pr man hour

And yeah you bill for each man pr hr. A lawn that takes 30 mins with two people should be billed at an hour
    Posted via Mobile Device

6. whiffyspark

whiffyspark LawnSite Fanatic