Review of the Gravely Pro G W/B

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by griffy, Dec 15, 2003.

1. griffy

griffy LawnSite Member

I just finished up the season with the Gravely Pro G 48" W/B. Most of my accounts have a slight to steep incline. This was a rainy season so the grass seemed to stay wet. I cut 30-40 accounts a week.
    For the rating system 1-5, 5 being the best
    Overall performance: 3
    For Design: 5 Gravelys are built like tanks. You could run a tree over with one of these mowers and not put a dent into the body.
    Cutting: 4 I added the extra blades that come with the mulch kit which came to 6 blades total. Made a very clean sharp cut and discharged the grass well in the wettest conditions. Never sharpened the blades once and cut great all season long.
    Engine: 5 15hp Kawasaki. Never had a problem with starting it nor did it bog down on me in thick grass. I have been running Kawasaki engines for 6 years and I have had a lot of faith in them.
    Handling: 3 The Pro G would tend to veer to one side or the other. Handle grips were metal and could take a toll on the hands after while.
    Gear Drive mechanism: 1 Lousy design. Drive belts constantly slipped and would not pull. I had to replace belts every month and one belt cost $50, which adds up quick. This is the biggest complaint I have with the Gravely. If belts got wet they were ruined and your day was over because they would no longer work, I couldn?t even get the mower to drive up on to my trailer.
    Reverse mechanism: 1 terrible. I couldn?t back up over a small curb. I had got stuck several times where the reverse would not work. This machine was not intended to go in reverse.
    Brakes: 3 For the most part the parking brake worked well however when backing the mower off the trailer I had to be careful because the brakes would not hold it while in gear and could easily roll back over me. I tightened the brakes as tight as they could go.