RonstarG vs Snap-Shot in flower/ornamental beds

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by mateo, Mar 4, 2003.

1. mateo

mateo LawnSite Member
    from Reno

I've been using Ronstar for the last 3 years in my beds (3 acres of land and probably 1 acre of areas that I want pre-emergent weed protection) and it seems to have been fairly successful but it is so expensive here $110 per 50lb. bag (12,000 ft coverage per bag). I have never used Snap-Shot as my local dealer (United Hort. Supply) does not carry it. I have read about it and it seems to be the favorite of many for pre-em on flower beds.

I have been applying RonstarG to my beds each Feb/March and my dealer tells me that If I apply each year that it works better each year at creating a barrier. Is this true and does Snap-Shot do the same thing and how often should it be applied?

Also, are there any good websites or wholesalers for buying fert/ herbacides at lower prices?
  2. Rob T

Rob T LawnSite Member

Snapshot can be applied 1-2 times per year. Works fairly well as a pre-emergent in beds. Does work better each year if continually maintained and any emerging weeds are sprayed. Cost about $70 for a 50# bag. I forget how much area it does. Maybe someone else can answer that. As always it's best applied under/before mulching, and needs to be watered in.

Also (I think) Snapshot has 2 active ingredients.

Never used Ronstar so I can't tell you if ones better than the other.
  3. GroundKprs

GroundKprs LawnSite Bronze Member

Snapshot at $70 for 50#, maximum effect uses 4.6# per 1000 ft².
    You are not really enhancing the effect of any pesticide by using the same chemical, or the same chemical family, repeatedly year after year. You are reducing the effect.