Rookie here

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by pconcepts, Feb 29, 2008.

1. pconcepts

pconcepts LawnSite Member

Hey everyone-
    Im fairly new to the site and just started my business last year as a solo operator at 34 years old after being in the printing industry for 13 years. Currently Im taking classes at my local community college for my cert. in landscape management. I just recently passed my general standards test (80%) and turf(90%) and ornamental(84%) categories as well. Im really excited about the upcoming year with the addition of the applicators license but kind of nervous too being its my first year applying. All of the yards I service are residential about 1/4 acre and I was wondering what are the must have things to have on hand at all times that the guys that have been doing this for a while(that they cant teach you in class) can clue me in about. Thanks in advance!

2. boats47

boats47 LawnSite Member

Your best bet is to use the search on the site and it will find all the info you need. Education and continuing ed are the most important, without that constant you could really do some damage. Basic equiptment would be sprayers both back pack and a 200gal with at least 350' of hose and a good pump (lesco has these). Motorized spreader such as the HPS or Z ( then you can fert and squirt togeather) and a hand push spreader, PPE X 3 (you don't want to be caught w/o it). At the very least go to your Lesco dealer and tell them what you want to do and they will set you up with a program that you can modify after time to suit your needs. EDUCATION is at the top, search the net everything is there for the asking.

Good Luck

3. pconcepts

pconcepts LawnSite Member

Thanks for the advice. I have a Lesco dealer within 5 min. of me. What size backpack sprayer works well that is not outrageously priced for a new guy like myself?

4. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC