Rookie question

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by tocs93, Apr 9, 2005.

1. tocs93

tocs93 LawnSite Member

This is my first year offering lawn treatment applications and I am using Lesco products and equipment. I noticed that some people have had trouble with their Lesco spreaders throwing too much material to the right side. I noticed during my first day of applications that the spreader was in fact throwing more material to the right at almost a 9:00 to the left and 4:00 to the right. I overlap my passes to the outside tire. Is my first app. going to stripe because of the pattern problem? And will closing the 3rd hole slightly fix my problem with throwing more material to the right? Thanks ahead of time for any suggestions!

2. Enviro Green

Enviro Green LawnSite Senior Member

Yes, it will cause you probelms and yes it can stripe. Depends on many things. Do a search on calibration. Get the trays and do it right. Then you won't have to worry.

EG

3. GroundKprs

GroundKprs LawnSite Bronze Member

But EG, can today's Lesco spreaders be dialed in to eliminate that heavy near right throw? A buddy and I spent almost a day 5 or 6 years ago trying to work around that bug-a-boo. We gave up, he dumped the Lesco, and he just went with Spykers since.

4. Enviro Green

Ah, you know the answer to that one.

I use spykers too.

I do use the lesco for lime and I do two passes, one up and one back in the same pass and then move 15 feet, that way, I do get an even spread, and with lime, it is ok.

But for fert, I don't use it.

Guess that's enough said. However, I think it is odd that SO MANY people use the lesco's everyday.....Can you explain that? I have my spyker's calibrated to within 7% variation on L to R from edge to edge, and do see a spike in the middle of the RH, but not enough to stripe.

What about yours?

EG

5. tocs93

tocs93 LawnSite Member