rookies mowing lawns every other week

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mike9497, Apr 4, 2003.

1. mike9497

mike9497 LawnSite Senior Member

guys guys guys.i have been reading alot of threads and i see tons of rookie landscapers mowing lawns every other week.can't lawn site make a landscapers manual.you know landscaper rookie guide how to become a high end company & not a low balling scab who mows lawns for 12 bucks :D

2. cturner

cturner LawnSite Member

i'm not a scab but i am a rookie and i take these jobs because i am just starting out and have to take what i can get but if u know away that i can drum up some better business then please tell me but by the way these lawns that i have by-weekly get charged more but give me some advice:blob4:

3. lawnworker

lawnworker LawnSite Senior Member

Ct, Shorten you sentences..:p With the economy like it is you will have to push hard for sales. Make use of several advertising forms. Good luck to you.

4. ksland

ksland LawnSite Senior Member

Some lawns I mow barely grow in a week....Its not how often they are willing to pay for it, its how often it needs to be mowed.

5. lawnworker

lawnworker LawnSite Senior Member

Yeah, sometimes you will run across a yard that just doesn't grow much. They are few and far between. I used to do a lot of 2 week cuts, not anymore, to messy on the discharge.

6. paponte

paponte LawnSite Silver Member

Well I have never been called a scrub before, but I guess the bare facts show that I am. I have several large properties that only need to be cut every two weeks. Since they are upscale houses I get top dollar for them and I am in the area anyway. Should I turn down the extra couple of hundred a week, just so I will lose my scrub status? :confused:

7. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Here we go again, scrub this, scrub that.

I'll say this again, if you concentrate on your customers, these people will not effect you.