1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Roto Tilling Estimate

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Wreak, Aug 21, 2004.

1. Wreak

Wreak LawnSite Member

I'm new to doing any type of landscaping and have never roto tilled before but my partner has a lot more experience in landscaping.

We have a regular customer that we mow each week (front yard only) and the backyard is mostly weeds and debris and a little bit of grass that hasn't been mowed in months. One day while mowing the lady asked us to give her an estimate on how much it would cost to roto till the back yard so she could plant grass seed. Being new to the tilling scene we had no clue what to charge but estimated it would take close to 2 full days of work between the both of us. So we quoted her $1000 and she said, "that's not bad at all, when can you start". We told her in 2 weeks.

Well, today was the day, I borrowed a commercial rear tine self propelled tiller from my inlaws (we included the rental of the equipment). We started removing debris, mowed everything down to nearly nothing, and poked around for tree stumps (found 1 that was very brittle), roots, etc. We encounterd about 20 to 30 Yellow Jackets so I had to run up to Home Depot and get some cans of hornet spray in hope of finding the hive but we never did. So the entire time we were watching each other's backs so that hindered our progress quite a bit. Another unexpected thing was that we found around 27 different sized round stepping stones about 4 inches deep while tilling and also found a full layer of black plastic around 2 inches deep. Also there were small round landscaping rocks all over the place and the tiller didn't like those that much either. LOL