1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Round up Bid

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by dodgeplower, Feb 28, 2008.

1. dodgeplower

dodgeplower LawnSite Member

I have 3300sqft and 12000 linear feet to spray with round up. Any idea how i should bid this
  2. rcreech

rcreech Sponsor
    Male, from OHIO

Know your cost (inputs, overhead and time) and make a profit.

That is about the only answer I can give you.
  3. dodgeplower

I am new to spraying round up. I really have no idea of my coverage for an area like that.
  4. rcreech

rcreech Sponsor
    Male, from OHIO

Sorry to ask....but are you licensed?

Roundup (Gly) is one of the easiest products to use...and with you not knowing how much to use or the area it will cover it made me ask?

If you are licensed...read the label. It is all on there in black and white.

I personally use a 2-3% solution when using a 41% product. It also depends on what kind of weeds you have and their size.

Takes very little gallons to kill with Glyphosate.

You can go as low as 5-6 gallons/acre and still get an excellend kill!

Hope this helps!
  5. dodgeplower

Yes I am licensed. I am used to just spot treating areas for weed control using the same rates you mentioned. I was only unsure of this bid because it is requiring no vegetaion in the 3300 sqft as well as the 12000 linear feet of fence. That totals just over 15000 sqft with a one foot spray along the fence. I was just unsure how much that may use.
  6. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

Are you using back pack or hand sprayer--or skid sprayer?

I would--spray water on 1000 sq ft of cement. Determine exactly how much water you used. Repeat to be sure. Mix accordingly using the label and sqft as a guide.