Run-down on Amsoil?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by NEPSJay, Mar 9, 2004.

1. NEPSJay

NEPSJay LawnSite Senior Member

I've been hearing alot about Amsoil products in posts lately and I was wondering what all the hype is all about. Can someone gimme the scoop on these products, please?

2. dishboy

dishboy LawnSite Platinum Member
    from zone 6

What I like about Amsoil is the machines make excellent power on it, my cylinders and pistons look great, and I have not had to scrape a exhaust port since switching over. Oh yes the price is fair also. I use series 2000 at 50 to 1 with premium gas.
    Tom

3. 2 man crew

2 man crew LawnSite Senior Member

Use regular oil. Then if you have any problems switch to Amsoil and make your own comparison.
    I've been using Amsoil 100:1 2 stoke for a few years now.

4. Avery

Avery LawnSite Bronze Member

I tried it but did not like it. Had more problems with my engines and they seemed to run a little hotter IMO. I was mixing at 50:1 not the 100:1 stated on the label.

5. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

I use Amsoil at 80:1 (1 bottle to 5 gals of gas) for years now and couldn't be happier. No fuss, no muss.

6. Premo Services

Premo Services LawnSite Bronze Member

Me too!!! Been using it for 3 years now, and no problems with my 2 cycle equipment. In fact, when I put amsoil in my older 2 cycle equipment, it ran better. Plus the main fact is no more cleaning plugs and ports and only one mix can needed now....:D

7. MR. Nomo

MR. Nomo LawnSite Member

I have been using amsoil for only a couple of months now. All my 2cycle stuff does seem to run smother. Especially my sthil chainsaw.

Avery> I cant say this to be a fact but I have heard or read that the more oil you use the hotter your equipment will run.
    I would like to know if this is true.

I also use the 100:1 premix and mix it to 80:1 ratio.

My blower was 25:1 mix so I was having to use two gas cans.
    No I have one can for all my equipment.