1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Running a business

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jaredslawncare, Mar 18, 2004.

1. jaredslawncare

jaredslawncare LawnSite Member

I really need to know how to get a customer base so that i will in only a few years have a full time business. i have been mowing for 4 years and have had a few residential accounts off and on, i now have only 1 but have 2 large commercial accounts, I am wanting to go into the landscaping end of business but want to stay with mowing too. I will soon have my license and have a business partener that i will go full time with when i graduate in 2 years he has about 9 mid sized accounts, but i need to know how you go about getting customers to accept bids that you place, i have been calling my target commercial areas and asking if they would like quotes and if they do i give them a letter telling how much and what i can do, and tell them if they think im too high ill take 20 percent off what they are now paying,(Which means a insured lawn care, not a "scrub") I need to establish customer bases for the long run, ive been going for commercial accounts, do you think i should first go for residential accounts and then go for the commercial, or what? please tell me what you would do if you were me. Thanks
  2. bayoulawn

bayoulawn LawnSite Member

Dont tell them youll take any percentage off.
    Stick to your guns and youll be glad you did.
  3. rookiemower

rookiemower LawnSite Senior Member

dont get involved with partners, usually partners lead to trouble in the long run, especially with friends
  4. BSDeality

BSDeality LawnSite Silver Member

agreed, never undercut. the only thing you're doing is killing the market. PICK YOUR CUSTOMERS, don't let them pick you.

BOTURF LawnSite Senior Member