1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Running engines at full throttle?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by BAMARED, Feb 5, 2003.

BAMARED LawnSite Member

I talked to a close friend that I haven't seen in a while a few days ago. He's a mechanic by trade and has been doing this type of work for 40+ years and is highly regarded by many as one of the top and most respected mechanics in this area both for his skill level and his overall knowledge.

We got on the subject of lawn mower engines. I told him that most mfg.'s of these lawnmower engines (Kawasaki, Kohler, etc.) recommend running their engines at full throttle when cutting grass. He told me that he didn't care what the mfg. of the engines say, that if you'll avoid full throttle operation as much as possible (but still get the job done) that it will extend your engine's life drastically. He went on to say that the reason that these mfg.s recommend full throttle operation is because they don't have to pay for a new engine and only benefit by telling the engines' owners this by increased sales of premature engine failure caused from excessive full throttle operation. Furthermore, he said that alot of equipment is designed to only produce the desired results under a full throttle load.

I've got to respect what he told me about this, but was wondering what some of you guys think about this?

2. walker-talker

walker-talker LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Midwest

If you don't run at full throttle, you are not going to get the maximum blade tip speed, which in turn will affect the quality of cut. I am not denying your friends opinion about making the life of the engine last longer, this might be true.

When I price a lawn to be mowed, that price include running the throttle at full tilt.

3. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic