RYAN LA 28 vs. ROCK SOLID PULLR????

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by GREENITUP, Oct 21, 2004.

1. GREENITUP

GREENITUP LawnSite Member

I'm will be getting back into the business next year and will be in the market for a new (or new to me / slightly used) aerator. I ran Ryan la-28's with Honda's, b&s's, Kawasaki engines for 3 brutal years. They all kicked my butt but did a superior job at pulling the cores. The Honda engine was most reliable, faster than the b & s, and a little slower than the newer Kawasaki. I have no experience with the rock solid pullr's but after doing a few searches, read that many here like the machine. Anyone have experience with both or an opinion either way as to which would be the better purchase? I have questions about plug depth with the rock solid's. Thanks for the input.

2. The Good Earth

The Good Earth LawnSite Member

The Rock Solid machine is a quality machine. It does, however, leave the plugs a little shallow. For the money you are going to spend on a new machine I would look at the split drive offered by Lesco or Turfco. I tried one out a few weeks ago and it sold me. They are both pretty much the same machine. They are no harder to operate than a 36" walk behind. But the difference is in the plug pulled. It is night and day. I was sold on the Plug'r but that Lesco machine beat it hands down.

Hope this helps

3. GREENITUP

TGE - What are we looking at cost-wise? Is the plugr in the same ballpark as the split drives you mentioned? They all look like lighter weight machines than the Ryan la-28's and have to be easier on the body. But am I wrong in thinking the added weight helps with the plug depth?

4. The Good Earth

The Good Earth LawnSite Member

With the specials Lesco are running you are probably looking at around a $300 savings going with the Lesco machine. Ballpark is around $2600.