1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Sand or stone dust under bluestone?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by greenersideup, Jan 11, 2005.

1. greenersideup

greenersideup LawnSite Member
    from NH

I am a landscape contractor who has been asked to re-do a bluestone walk that has failed. It buckled, and many of the stones are actually cracked. It is in NH, where the winters are long and cold. I thought maybe that the base wasn't done right, but we lifted a few stones, and found ~8" of gravel under 3"+ of stone dust. Do you think that the stone dust is holding too much water and didn't drain properly, and that's why the walk has failed? WHen we relay it, isn't it better to use masonry sand rather than stonedust?

Thanks for your comments.
  2. cgland

cgland LawnSite Bronze Member

IMO the reason it failed is because of the stone dust itself....especially at 3"! Stone dust is poorly graded(meaning it does not have an even mix of small, medium and large particles) Stone dust consists mainly of....dust w/ some 1/4" pieces in it and because of that fact when you screed stone dust you can have highly concentrated areas of large particles and highly concentrated areas of very small particles, both of which settle differently causing waviness and/or improper settling. I would use coarse washed sand as a setting bed.

P.S. just because you found 8" of gravel does not mean it was compacted properly.

3. AGLA

AGLA LawnSite Bronze Member

Is the stone dust washing down into the gravel?
  4. AGLA

AGLA LawnSite Bronze Member