Sanding yard to fill in low areas and overseeding??

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by Terra-Scapes, Aug 1, 2006.

1. Terra-Scapes

Terra-Scapes LawnSite Member

I have one property that is approx 1 acre and has a 50/25/25% split of Bermuda hydorseeding, broadleaf weeds, and bare red clay. The client wants to fill in the low spots with sand, have it aerated, and over seeded. I am new to the industry and I haven't level a lawn with sand or aerated before. What would be the best thing to do first and how much should I charge?

The other property is a new Emerald Zoysia and the client wants me to top dress the front yard to prep it for Reel mowing. I haven't done any top dressing before and I'm not sure what it in tells. Should I slowly apply sand the yard in weekly increments and let it stabilize before I apply another layer? What does top dressing in tells exactly?

Josh

2. dcgreenspro

dcgreenspro LawnSite Senior Member
    from PA

topdressing- adding the same particle sized sand back into the soil in weekly apps. You should be fine barring the soil now is the correct size for optimum root growth ie. sandy loam. When you todress, it would be best to brush it in with an industrial broom or drag mat. that way, you won't smoke the reel mower that quickly.
    As far as leveling the other lawn, i would aerate and drag the lawn four or five times, the cores will fill in the low spots for you.

3. GardnerLandscaping

GardnerLandscaping LawnSite Senior Member

I saw a neighbor dump bags of cow manure and rake into their yard before for centipede on the Georgia coast.