scag?...gravely?...toro?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by txnbygod, Jul 8, 2003.

1. txnbygod

txnbygod LawnSite Member

note: newbie here

i'm in the market for a new machine. residential will be my main target so i am leaning to a 32" to fit thru most gates into the back yard.
    choices so far---

*scag advantage wif the 12.5 kawa
    *toro t-bar floating mulching deck wif the 13. kohler comm pro
    *gravely pro g wif the 13. kawa

and thoughts?

2. Tx Firefighter

Tx Firefighter LawnSite Member

I'm also in Texas. I use a 36 inch Scag WB. It goes into all of my gates. The machine seems okay, but I cannot get it to cut nicely. It is my first WB, and I'm teaching myself, but still, on some of my yards where it has to be perfect, I pull out the Toro Proline 21 incher.

I'm usually pretty quick on the learning curve, but this walk behind is damn difficult to produce an even, smooth, scalp free cut. I know I'll get flamed for this, but to me, the 21 inch produces the best finish on the residential lawns that are in my area. All of the guys, myself included, who use WBs don't seem to produce as smooth and pretty of a cut. I've tried Gator blades, and changing the deck pitch and height, all with limited success. If I had to buy again, I'd knock off a 7-11 if I had to to get a hydro machine. The belt drive either goes forward, or you manhandle it backward. The hydro, you can dance into and out of tight areas, with much less fatigue. It looks like that Exmark ECS thing is fingertip control of the machine, with zero muscle required. There is no close Exmark dealer to me, but next year, I might just buy one anyway, even if I need to drive an hour to get it repaired.

Again, the Scag is fine, but I wish I hadn't bought it.

3. hunter

hunter LawnSite Senior Member
    from Texas