Scag Mowers?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by landgator, Apr 27, 2006.

1. landgator

landgator LawnSite Member

I'm new to the lawn/landscaping scene. I'm looking for a good commercial mower, no bigger then a 48" deck. A friend recommended a Scag, Tiger Cub. I would like any comments that anyone has, before I make this investment. Thanks for the help.
  2. Hermanator

Hermanator LawnSite Member

Just did a demo with one that same size today.... awesome machine. if we buy, it will be a scag so far.
  3. Green King

Green King LawnSite Senior Member

There are a lot of good machines in that size. Encore Hustler Everide Scag and Dixie Chopper to name a few. Check out your dealer support that is probably more important than brand name.
  4. OGM_Mows

OGM_Mows LawnSite Member

I would go for an Exmark Lazer Z HP over the Tiger Cub. I had a Tiger Cub and was sorely disappointed. The machine just felt awkward. It was a little unstable on slopes, it tore up the ground on turns, the cut quality was just so-so, it was heavy, etc. When my Scag was in the shop (a wheel motor, a series of belts, and the deck raise bolt all broke within 180 hours) I was given a Lazer Z HP as a loaner. It was night and day. I could cut quicker, turn around faster without turf damage, the seat was more comfortable, it was more sure-footed, and the list goes on. I would save yourself the headaches and just go red and leave and only get orange for your juice. Exmark outsells other brands 2 to 1 for a reason.
  5. LLandscaping

LLandscaping LawnSite Bronze Member

We have a Scag Tiger Cub and it cuts great. The Cub has 400hrs or so and all we have done is replace a few belts and do routine maintenance.
  6. ronniez71

ronniez71 LawnSite Member

I dont think u know what your talkling about u gotta learn how to cut first??
  7. dtrap420

dtrap420 LawnSite Member