1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

scag tiger cub problems

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by apluslawns, Aug 21, 2006.

1. apluslawns

apluslawns LawnSite Member

i hope i got the right forums i am new to this.

i have a scag tiger cub 48" cut 19 Kawasaki engine the mower has 303 hours on it now. it is 2 years old with an advantage deck. the problem is that it is now on its third deck belt. i have checked the pulleys, idlers tensioner. several times the mower is very well maintained. my local scag dealer has a 3 week back log before they even look at it.

the original belt broke at 248 hours. the replacement belt which was also a scag belt broke at 50 hours now i am on the third belt. the belt cost $ 87.00
    my cost and i installed it.

is anyone else having this problem? if so have you fixed it ? if you have can you give me any pointers on how to correct it. i cant afford to have my mower in the shop for 3 weeks. any ideas or suggestion would be helpful thank you
  2. CutInEdge Lawn Care

CutInEdge Lawn Care LawnSite Senior Member

Yes, the idler pully in very back, the one that is aprox 3-4" tall is more than likely going bad. My dealer had a hard time spotting the prob until he put on the rack and realized there was a little play in the bearing. Give me a call and I will explain in more detail if you need. Chuck 386-479-5880
  3. jt5019

jt5019 LawnSite Bronze Member

I had a similar problem.. after the third belt the dealer found the problem. One of the pulleys or idlers was just a little lower then the rest and that threw the belt off enough to make it break a lot sooner than they should. All they did was put a washer under it to level it out and it hasn't been a problem since then.
  4. CutInEdge Lawn Care