Lawn Care Forum banner

Scheduling

2K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  mklawnman 
#1 ·
This is my first year doing more landscape work than just the usual maintenance part. Considering I've been doing maintenance work for the past 3yrs now and slowly getting into landscaping, but have gotten a few calls for landscaping. I'm this person that feels that I need to get at this stuff ASAP, but considering the time constraints I cant get everything done at once. So do most of you guys get with the potential customer, walk over the property and see what needs to get done, then get your prices for materials and drawing and get back to them ASAP?? Cause I have a drawing that I'm suppose to revise for a customer for a new lawn/landscape install and its been over a week and I havent gotten to it yet, been so busy with cleanups and also school. I want to be on top of things but right now I'm not, and worried that the customers will get upset because I havent gotten back to them yet on their designs and estimate. Though I told them I wouldnt be able to start any work till the end of May.
Maybe this is something I have to learn as I move about this business of scheduling mowing along with the landscaping aspect. Luckily I have the rest of my life ahead of me to working on creating a efficent scheduling plan.
Any thoughts or opinions are always nice:cool:
Matt

#2 ·
i would at least call them and tell them the situation of your schedule just so that they do not feel that you have abandoned them. these call keep both parties informed, they may have thought of other things that they want done, or the WORST gone with another company. making a customer wait is bad, but making the wait without notice is even worse.

just my .02

#5 ·
Matt,