1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Scoop me on subcontracting.....please.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Gr grass n Hi tides, Dec 2, 2003.

1. Gr grass n Hi tides

Gr grass n Hi tides LawnSite Bronze Member

I had a local LCO that I'm on good terms with casually mention to me that he might have some contracts (residentials) he could possibly subcontract out to me next year. The reason he gave me is that he's got a couple of big jobs in the works that if he lands, would make it difficult for him to keep all of his current work. For some reason, he seems to want these larger contracts.

I've been talking to this guy for several years & I think (I said think) he's on the up & up. We have built good rapport. I know this much - he knows how to bill. I'm a little cautious because, first of all, if I were in his shoes I would not want to put too many eggs in one basket, so why go with fewer accounts? Maybe I'm over-thinking this.

He's got one full time crew in the field & has told me many times (even before I launched) that he would never want to be a "big" company. That's just his gig.

So, hypothetically speaking, if I go look at his accounts & see that he's got them billed at about $60/hr., & he's ready to give me.....say 15-20 of them in "bulk", what would be a fair rate for this "subcontract" work? I know how to go out & get my own business, but part of me thinks that a boost like this might also be a good thing?

Any thoughts? Any experience with this?
  2. Tonyr

Tonyr LawnSite Bronze Member