Scotts Anyone????

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by FIREMAN Q, Aug 5, 2006.

1. FIREMAN Q

FIREMAN Q LawnSite Senior Member

I am new to this business and I am looking at ways to create more income. I want to start offering a fertilizer program. I know this will keep the lawn looking great as well as keep it growing.

I was thinking of just using the Scott's 4 step program. Due to my lack of knowledge in the subject i figured that would be the easiest thing to do. Plus i figured that if I throw around the Scott's name it may make the sale a little easier.

My other option is to go to my locale Lesco dealer (same town 10 min away) and just follow one of there programs.

Looking for some advice from the pro's. What do you think my best option is?????

thanks in advance

2. golfguy

golfguy LawnSite Member

IMO Scotts products are over priced junk.

3. hmartin

hmartin LawnSite Senior Member

Start doing searches and reading in the pesticide and fertilizer forum. If you read enough you will find some fertilizer programs of quality people. You will learn tons. Scotts products are expensive and there are much better programs out there. Talk to someone at Lesco or another reputuable dealer.

4. prostriper

prostriper LawnSite Senior Member

Make sure you get a certified pesticide applicators liscence first. You can get the study materials and take the test at your local department of agriculture extension. Get caught without it and you could work for free for a year!

5. DoetschOutdoor

DoetschOutdoor LawnSite Bronze Member
    from S. IL