Scotts Anyone?????

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by FIREMAN Q, Aug 5, 2006.

1. FIREMAN Q

FIREMAN Q LawnSite Senior Member

I am new to this business and I am looking at ways to create more income. I want to start offering a fertilizer program. I know this will keep the lawn looking great as well as keep it growing.

I was thinking of just using the Scott's 4 step program. Due to my lack of knowledge in the subject i figured that would be the easiest thing to do. Plus i figured that if I throw around the Scott's name it may make the sale a little easier.

My other option is to go to my locale Lesco dealer (same town 10 min away) and just follow one of there programs.

Looking for some advice from the pro's. What do you think my best option is?????

thanks in advance

2. Team-Green L&L

Team-Green L&L LawnSite Bronze Member

Do this without a license and you will be OUT of this business real fast!

3. sweatyclippingcoveredguy

sweatyclippingcoveredguy LawnSite Member

Get licensed if you going to promote the fertilizing end of your business. When you are licensed you are able to get better and stronger fertilizer formulated specifically from your area. Don't get the Scotts crap. It's secondhand mass produced junk available to the general public to make Scotts a buck. However I have read their lawn care book and found it to be very well done and accurate (besides all the sales pitches). Anyway, their steps program is logical and the timing of the fertilizing is correct. So they have their research straight, it's just that alot of their fertilizer is crap.

4. sweatyclippingcoveredguy

sweatyclippingcoveredguy LawnSite Member

oh and try to avoid telling them exactly what you use, you might pull in one day to a dead lawn because they thought they would do it themselves.

5. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic