Scrub Lawyer and LCO!!!!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MOW ED, Apr 24, 2004.

1. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

Now I'm really gettin pizzed. I have a nice section of houses on a cul de sac that I have been mowing for about 7 years. A new guy who is the stepson to one of the customers on that cul de sac moved into one of the houses. He was also a customer of mine until this year when he decided that he wants to mow his own lawn. Thats fine.
    This spring I was set up to do a spring clean at his step moms house as I have done in the past. She called and cancelled stating that her stepson did it. (it looks terrible) OK.
    About 5 minutes ago, she calls and says that her stepson now wants to mow her lawn this year. The lady said that she is not sure if he is going to be able to stay with it because he is busy. (THE SOB is a LAWYER)
    I told her that it is certainly her right to have anyone she wants to mow for her but I had reserved a spot for her and I will now have to replace her. She said that she may call me if he can't be consistent. I said that she is welcome to call but I will have to charge her extra if she returns.

Now, not only am I fighting to keep customers from scumbags that are working for cash and not paying taxes and insurance. I am fighting lawyers that are doing it for free. I'm telling you that I am close to just doing spring and fall cleans and going full time into applications. But then again, even there I am fighting the unlicensed priks that are applying illegally. Time to get tough, this is costing me money and I ain't likin it.
    OK done venting, thanks for hearing me out.

2. Steve9

Steve9 LawnSite Member
    from Texas

Charge her extra for what? Either you have time or you dont!

3. Lombardi

Lombardi LawnSite Senior Member

Why are you so upset? You are in a business that anyone from the age of 7 to 90 can do if they have the time and are physically able to.