Sears Craftsman yard mower barely runs

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by Kenny H, Oct 6, 2002.

1. Kenny H

Kenny H LawnSite Member

I'm new here, hopefully you guys can help me out. I have a Sears Craftsman push mower w/bag that is 14 months old. It has 6 horsepower I believe, its just the basic lawn mower. Earlier this summer I hit a tree stump that was not recessed into the ground as deeply as I thought, since then the mower has given me problems. Upon startup it now blows out blue smoke (oil) and seems to rev much much slower then before. It vibrates and shakes. In order to ensure the blade was not hitting the deck I swapped the stock 21" for a 19". It has plenty of clearance but still vibrates/shakes and does not run well at all. There seems to be some play in the shaft holding the blade, maybe the crank is bent? I'm far from a mechanic so thats about as best as I can describe the trouble. What do you guys think? I do not have much property so a real basic mower would be fine. Am I better off just junking this one and getting a cheap one? Is this worth getting fixed?
  2. Robert Doubrava

Robert Doubrava LawnSite Senior Member

You most likely bent the crankshaft. That's what is probably causing all the vibration.

Good luck!!:)
  3. Yes it sounds bent crank. Replacement motor cost most of what replacing mower would be.
    Don't forget to get rid of that stump 1st;)
  4. Doogiegh

Doogiegh LawnSite Senior Member

Something I just thought of..

What's Sear's return policy? I wonder if you can return it...Cause you don't like it..

I have heard on here that Home Depot will take back anything, even if it's been used.

So if you cleaned up the mower with a nice rag, put some Pledge on it to shine it up, and brought it back.. I wonder if that is even feasible..

Anyone ever do anything like that?????

5. PartsGuy

PartsGuy LawnSite Member

I did not notice in your post whether or not you checked the flywheel key?